Prerogative Reform Project

Our SSHRC-funded project compares how the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand have reformed prerogative powers, authorities that belong to the Crown in its own right, as recognized by common law.

We will be hosting our first work on prerogative power reform on 11 October 2019 at the Lord Elgin Hotel in Ottawa, Canada.

The workshop agenda is available here:

Prerogative Reform Workshop 11 October 2019

Our interdisciplinary research team of political scientists and legal scholars includes:

Philippe Lagassé, Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University

Eric Adams, Faculty of Law, University of Alberta

Anne Twomey, University of Sydney Law School

Andrew Banfield, School of Politics and International Relations, Australian National University

Leonid Sirota, Auckland University of Technology, Law School

Robert Hazell, The Constitution Unit, University College London

Sebastian Payne, Kent Law School, University of Kent

For an overview of the project, see our summary here: Prerogative Reform Project Summary

Here’s a short bibliography on prerogative powers in the Westminster system: Prerogative Bibliography

Here are some of the slides from our first workshop:

Hazell: Reforming the Prerogative in the UK Ottawa workshop v2 11 Oct 19

Lagassé 1: Comparative research

Lagassé 2: Canada Prerogative